Ever have a song haunt you? It’s different than having a song stuck in your head. When a song gets stuck in your head you just kind of sing along until you finally blare it as loud as you can on your speakers and dance to it. Nobody else does that? Fine then.

No, this song has been haunting me. It’s been replaying over and over again in my head and I can’t help but ask myself again and again:

Would I?

It was a special this week at our church. Just one song right before our pastor approached the pulpit. I listened to the sermon I promise, but my mind kept going back to this song over and over again. Maybe you’re familiar with it:

  1. I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold;
    I’d rather be His than have riches untold;
    I’d rather have Jesus than houses or lands;
    I’d rather be led by His nail-pierced hand

    • Refrain:
      Than to be the king of a vast domain
      And be held in sin’s dread sway;
      I’d rather have Jesus than anything
      This world affords today.
  2. I’d rather have Jesus than men’s applause;
    I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause;
    I’d rather have Jesus than worldwide fame;
    I’d rather be true to His holy name
  3. He’s fairer than lilies of rarest bloom;
    He’s sweeter than honey from out the comb;
    He’s all that my hungering spirit needs;
    I’d rather have Jesus and let Him lead

Now I’ve heard this song several times growing up, being Southern Baptist, but Sunday it hit me as it never have before.

The song talks about wanting Jesus more than money, possessions, fame, or sin, but what came to my mind was our family’s recent dealing with Vanderbilt Hospital and the open heart surgery of our youngest daughter, Penny.

Would I rather have Jesus than Penny?

I was bombarded by so many church family members who were so pleased that Penny was home and I joined with them in celebration. I’m so relieved my baby girl is back home and recovering well. I wonder though, would I be able to praise God as easily as I do now if He had not given us Penny back?

I’d rather have Jesus…

…than Penny?
…than Sophie?
…than Bekah?

I’d rather have Jesus than anything.

Jesus Himself made this distinction and told us that if we love our family more than Him, our priorities were not straight. (Luke 14:25-26)

Now granted, as Christians, if we place God first, yes even above our children and spouse, than the beautiful result is that we will end up loving them better than if we loved them more than Christ.

The truth makes sense.

And still the song plays in my head.

I’d rather have Jesus….

…would i?

About ronaldlong

Ronald is the Middle School Pastor at Wayside Chapel in San Antonio, TX. He has a beautiful wife named Bekah and three girls: Sophie, Penny and Ruth. He's the author of Awkward and Faker, two bible studies for students. Get more info about them at 128ministries.org.

Leave a Reply

